LVES Promotes 68 6th-Graders

By Peter Day
Lucerne Valley Elementary sent another impressive group off to middle school at the school’s 6th-grade Promotion Ceremony on May 28.
Principal Mr. Burt Umstead welcomed guests as the 6th-graders walked into the Sgt. Brian L. Walker Memorial Gymnasium at Lucerne Valley High School to “Pomp and Circumstance.” The Pledge of Allegiance was led by students Mikayla Alpizar and Jadyn Paddack.
Three 6th-graders were chosen to give speeches. The student speakers were Brooklyn Lembcke, Hannibal LeAir and Zoey Davis. Sixth-grade teachers Ms. Lane, Ms. Lopez, Mrs. Paddack and Mr. Rivas, along with Mrs. Miller, presented the certificates. Special recognition awards were given by Ms. Lane, Ms. Lopez, Mrs. Paddack and Mr. Rivas. Students of the Trimester Awards were given to Zoey Davis, Alma Cuevas, Meilani Nguyen and Albert Kang.
The final student speaker, Zoey Davis, said 2018-19 was “an amazing year.” She shared fond memories throughout elementary school and credited teacher Mrs. Paddack for an especially memorable sixth grade. “Everyone has to grow up,” Zoey said. “It’s hard to believe it’s our turn.”
Following the student’s speech, Mr. Umstead congratulated those being promoted by giving a big bow and then saying, “Happy trails to you!” As Kool & The Gang’s “Celebrate” began, he then introduced the high school Class of 2025.
Earlier in the week, the 6th-graders took a tour of Lucerne Valley Middle School, where they will start on a new journey in August.
The 6th-grade students (in alphabetical order) who were promoted on Tuesday.
Samuel Acosta, Mikayla Alpizar, Samuel Arreola, Issac Atkins, Luis Baltazar, Sonia Beede, Christopher Birge, Jayden Bruce, Timothy Bruce, Yomari Calderon, Analyca, Crystal Castle, Braxton Cervantes, Natalie Coe, Stephanie Corlis, Brian Cortez, Francisco Cortez, Gloria “Rubi” Cortez, Alma Cuevas, Elizabeth Davis, Zoey Davis, Alexah DeLira, Daphne Demke, Cecilia Diaz, Rochelle DuBoise, Chloe Evans, Diana Evans, Cheyenne Flowers, Rylee Giles, Geovani Godoy, Joseph Gomes Sanchez, and Arelyn Gonzalez.
Additional students were Lafcadio Graves, Joely Herrera, Sergio Herrera, Natalee Hite, Albert Kang, Ashlyn Kenahan, Hannibal LeAir, Brooklyn Lembcke, Noah Lindner, Truman Luna, Luisangel Lupercio, Sayge McFarland, Allen Miller, Sandra Mizer, Isaiah Navarro, Meilani Nguyen, Gerardo Orozco, Marisela Ortega, Jadyn Paddack, Jason Picco, Derrick Raybon, Daniel Raygoza, Tyler Reighard, Christian Reyes, William Rietdyk, Ryan Rodriguez, Belinda Sanchez, Gabriel Smith, Aydin Stewart, Clover Strunk, Jasmin Suarez, Tiana Tellez Duch, Jasmine Torres, Brooke Vaughn, Alejandro Walker, and Cheyenne Watson.